Despite challenging conditions, round three of the Motul MX Nationals proved to be a breakthrough outing for DPH Motorsport Yamaha’s Jed Beaton at Broadford today, going undefeated across both motos and leaving as the new Motul MX2 points leader.

With round three marking the first ‘mud race’ for the Motul MX Nationals in two years, the MX2 championship was completely turned on it’s head today, with no one expecting what played out across the two action packed races.

The Motul MX2 class were the first category to face the wet, muddy, track conditions at the State Motorcycle Complex this morning, and after severe storms ripped through during the night, qualifying was removed from the schedule with gate picks decided by championship standings.

When riders launched off the grid for moto one, the wet surface didn’t hinder the likes of KTM mounted Jayden Rykers who snatched up the first MXstore hole shot for round three, and then shot off to an impressive lead. However, a small mistake on lap one by Rykers allowed Raceline Pirelli KTM’s Dylan Wills to inherit the top spot, while NPE Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Jake Moss, and Nathan Crawford (Husqvarna) followed closely behind in third and fourth positions respectively.

After only a couple of laps, the muddy conditions meant that positions continued to change dramatically, but it was DPH Motorsport’s Beaton who took advantage of other rider’s misfortunes, to move in to the race lead ahead of Rykers, Crawford, Wills and CRF Honda Racing’s Kyle Webster.

After four laps, series points leader Caleb Ward was a notable absentee from the front of the pack, the KTM mounted youngster continuing to circulate back in 12th position – appearing to struggle with the difficult Broadford track.

By the halfway mark in moto one, the mud proved to be an absolute equaliser, however it was Beaton who proved his skill in the wet and continued to lead the pack from Webster, who had moved up to second position, followed by Wills and Moss, while Crawford rounded out the top five placings.

As the moto reached its final stages, there was little change to the top positions – DPH Motorsport’s Beaton appearing more and more comfortable in race lead, while CRF Honda Racing’s Webster was having a stand out ride in second place ahead of Moss in third.

And the Motul MX2 riders were nothing short of relieved to see the chequered flag fly after a gruelling 30 minutes – Beaton capitalizing on the wet conditions aboard his Yamaha to secure his first race win for 2016, crossing the line more than ten seconds ahead of second place getter Webster, while Moss wrapped up the opening moto in third.

Crawford managed to race to a hard fought fourth place in moto one, while Western Australian Dean Porter rounded out the top five finishing standings. In a huge upset to the championship, red plate holder Ward was unable to finish the opening MX2 race, with bike problems forcing the Queenslander to DNF.

In race two, SD3 Husqvarna’s Arbon got to a ripping start off the straight, however it wasn’t long before Beaton once again stamped his authority on the Motul MX2 class, moving in to the race lead, relegating Arbon to second followed by Webster in third.

From there Beaton just got better and better – putting down his fastest time (2:06.725) on lap three, which saw him continue to break away from his fellow competitors.

With Beaton out in front, the focus then shifted to the remaining positions, and with second to seventh place separated by less than ten seconds, spectators were treated to a battle between, Arbon, Webster, Crawford, Moss, Serco Yamaha’s Wade Hunter, and KTM’s Rykers for the final top spots.

However, the battle was somewhat impeded by the significant lap traffic, and by the time race two reached the halfway mark, it was Arbon who maintained second position, followed by Webster in third, while Crawford and Hunter completed the top five.

When the Motul MX2 competitors received the last lap board for the final time, positions remained relatively unchanged, the only movement to placings being from Serco Yamaha’s Hunter who managed to get by Crawford to slot in to fourth position.

And when race two was run and won for the Motul MX2 class, it was Beaton who proved he was unstoppable at Broadford, taking an emphatic second race win ahead of Arbon, who secured a consistent second place, while Webster wrapped up moto two in third 5mg cialis.

With two wins, from two motos to his name, DPH Motorsport’s Beaton went undefeated at round three, and as a result was awarded the overall win ahead of Webster and Arbon who wrapped up a tough round in second and third places respectively.

As well as an overall win to his name, Beaton emerged from round three of the Motul MX Nationals as the new MX2 series points leader, and will now run the prized red plate when the series heads to Murray Bridge in three weeks’ time.

Jed Beaton – DPH Motorsport Yamaha – Round 3 Overall Winner

“It is so good to reward the team and also myself with the win at Broadford today. I’ve been working so hard for this and I can’t believe it’s finally happened,” he said.

“To go 1,1 for the first time is just a really good feeling and I’m hoping to carry that same momentum into the next round. I’m feeling confident so, it’s all upwards from here.

“I finally got my starts sorted which was good too, but I really just can’t thank DPH Motorsports Yamaha enough for the opportunity, as well as everyone else associated with the team. Hopefully there are lots more moments like this throughout the season.”

Motul MX2 round three results

1) Jed Beaton – 70 points
2) Kyle Webster – 62 points
3) Luke Arbon – 55 points
4) Nathan Crawford – 54 points
5) Jake Moss – 54 points
6) Dylan Wills – 47 points
7) Wade Hunter – 46 points
8) Wilson Todd – 46 points
9) Hamish Harwood – 43 points
10) Richie Evans – 43 points

Motul MX2 Championship Standings

1) Jed Beaton – 172 points
2) Nathan Crawford – 169 points
3) Luke Arbon – 161 points
4) Jake Moss – 161 points
5) Wilson Todd – 148 points
6) Jayden Rykers – 144 points
7) Caleb Ward – 142 points
8) Kyle Webster – 138 points
9) Kale Makeham – 134 points
10) Wade Hunter – 130 points

The Motul MX Nationals will now begin preparations for round four of the championship, being held at Murray Bridge on May 22, 2016.
Race Report from